Death of a Salesman

by The ILLusionists

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


  • Death of a Salesman CD
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    While supplies last all orders ship with a signed CD-R of By the Throat Remixed, and Crushkill Recordings stickers!

    Note: CDs will have retail price stickers on the outside of the plastic sleeve.

    Death of a Salesman is the fifth album from The ILLusionists. It follows the band members over a three year period: struggling with a dead-end job, balancing that 9-5 life with a music career, and eventually making sacrifices to escape from corporate retail. The album features actual recordings of past bosses, and real life write-ups (though somewhat obscured) are visible in the artwork.

    But the real life catalyst for this story is stranger than fiction. The ILL opened a show for Eyedea & Abilities, and struck an unlikely bond with their heroes. After sound check, DJ Abilities listened to the entire ILL IS ALL record, and began mentoring ILLusionists co-founder Web The Free Range Human.

    This newfound connection led to a remix version of E&A's last album, By The Throat, produced entirely by Web. Eyedea was so enthused about the project that he began recording new vocals for the remixes just before he passed away in 2010.

    But E&A didn't only influence the group creatively. Eyedea also introduced them to friends Sadistik and Kristoff Krane. The ILL later toured with Krane and has opened for Sadistik in several cities. This eventually led to collaborations that appear on the new album.

    Blueprint, Ecid, Crescent Moon, and Kristoff Krane were all carefully chosen to help The ILLusionists complete the album narrative. All of the features on Death of a Salesman are from the Midwest, and were friends of Mikey's.

    "pwnd" is the first single from Death of a Salesman ( The lyrics channel years of frustration, amid the staggering fear of finding new life as a starving artist. The video coincides with the album art, as Sammy Warm Hands confronts his boss for the last time. This alludes to the group's "I Quit My Job For This" tour in 2011.

    Track listing:
    1. Groundhog Days (featuring Blueprint)
    2. pwnd
    3. Death of a Salesman #1
    4. The Stage (featuring Ecid)
    5. Brave Little Toaster
    6. Death of a Salesman #2
    7. Insects & Parasites (featuring Crescent Moon)
    8. Center of a Tension
    9. Not Alone (featuring Kristoff Krane)
    10. Death of a Salesman #3
    11. Unsatisfied
    12. Finally (featuring Jori Teran)
    13. Victory Lap

    Includes unlimited streaming of Death of a Salesman via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more

    Sold Out



released June 4, 2013

Produced by Sammy Warm Hands
Mixed & mastered by Eric Munch


all rights reserved


The ILLusionists recommends:

If you like The ILLusionists, you may also like: